Salesforce Disabling TLS 1.0 (2017)

Document created by anton_serbanescu Employee on Feb 19, 2016Last modified by mike_aronson on Mar 20, 2017
Version 17Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Update

 

Salesforce postponed the date for disabling TLS 1.0 in production orgs from March 4, 2017 to July 22, 2017.

Summary

Salesforce is disabling TLS 1.0 encryption protocol for inbound and outbound connections which will affect integration processes developed in Boomi using the Salesforce, Apex, Salesforce Analytics, or any generic protocol connector to integrate with Salesforce.
The Announcement from Salesforce (updated on February 21, 2017) lists the dates as follows:
Sandbox orgs

June 25, 2016, at 9:30 AM PDT (16:30 UTC)

Production orgs

July 22, 2017

March 4, 2017, at 9:30 AM PST (17:30 UTC)

login.salesforce.com, other servicesTBD (On or after the production disablement)

 

What are the plans and actions you must take going forward?

Java 6 supports TLS 1.0, but does not support TLS 1.1 or 1.2 protocols, so if you had an atom running on Java 6, it would not be able to communicate with Salesforce when they disable TLS 1.0.  Because Dell Boomi enables integrations with multiple endpoints, we have ended operations for atoms on Java 6 on May 4, 2016.

 

Dell Boomi atoms currently support TLS 1.0 and TLS 1.2 and will be able to communicate with Salesforce if the atom is running on Java 7 or Java 8.

 

If you receive a related error after the disablement occurs, there is an atom system property that can be added to the atom.vmoptions file to force TLS v1.1 or TLS 1.2, for example:

 

-Dhttps.protocols=TLSv1.2

 

and then restart the atom.

 

More Information

3 people found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes