User Group Member's Guide

Document created by Adam Arrowsmith Employee on Apr 13, 2016Last modified by Adam Arrowsmith Employee on Feb 27, 2017
Version 5Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

 

Overview

User groups are places were members can discuss and collaborate around a specific topic such as product interests, integration practices, and regional user groups. Some groups are public and anyone can view and join, while others are private requiring approval or invitation to join.

 

Find and join groups to connect with other users around the topics you care about!

 

You must be logged into the community to join or follow a group.

Except for group management, all group members have the same access level with respect to creating and viewing content.

 

Finding a Group

Use the Global Search to quickly find a group:

 

 

Alternatively to see a list of all groups including the ones of which you are a member, go to Avatar menu > Your Places.

 

 

 

 

Group Types

There are four types of groups as defined below:

 

 

Joining and Following Groups

You must be logged into the community to join or follow a group.

 

Depending on the group type the options for joining and following a group will differ.

 

  • Public (Unrestricted) - There is no group membership. Any user can view and create any type of content. You can follow the group to receive activity notifications.
  • Public (Restricted) - No need to join to view or create new questions or discussions. You can follow the group. However to create documents and other types of content you will need to become a member through invitation. Upon becoming a member you will automatically follow the group.
  • Private (Listed) - You will need to request access or be invited by another member. Upon becoming a member you will automatically follow the group.
  • Private (Unlisted) - You must be invited by another member. Upon becoming a member you will automatically follow the group.

 

If you no longer wish to receive activity notifications for a group, simply click Following to toggle off. Unfollowing is different than leaving the group.

 

To leave a group altogether, click Leave Group in the upper right of the group banner. If you wish to rejoin later you will need to be invited back so contact the group owner.

 

Participating in Groups

Your participation in a group can vary from "just looking" to being an active contributing member. Except for public unrestricted groups, you need to join the group before you can participate and create most types of content. Remember your fellow group members are there to talk about a particular subject, so please keep conversations on topic.

 

Creating Content

As a member you will be able to create various types of content within that group. The visibility of content created in a group is determined by the group type as described above. For example if you post a question in a public group, it will be visible by everyone including non-registered guests.

 

Also note that group owners can configure the content types available for their groups so you may not see all the options for a particular group.

 

For information of content types and creating content, please see Understanding and Creating Content Types.

 

Inviting Others

Depending on the group type you can invite other users to join the group. If you are not a group owner, the invitation will be sent first to an owner for approval.

 

To invite a user:

  1. From within the group click Actions > Invite members in the upper right of the group banner.
  2. Search for and add the desired user(s). Note the user must already be a registered community user. You cannot invite external users directly via email. Instead, send them an email outside the community instructing them to log into AtomSphere and navigate to Help menu > Community to be provisioned automatically. Once provisioned you can then invite them to the group.
  3. Inviting a user will send a notification in their Jive inbox and also an email, assuming the user has not opted out of email notifications.
  4. The user must accept the invitation within the Jive inbox message. Upon accepting the user is now a member and can access and create content within the group.

 

Owning Groups

If you are made a group owner you will have additional privileges to administer user membership, manage content, and control things like group page layouts and available content types. Again it is important to note that except for group management, all members have the same access level with respect to creating and viewing content.

 

Managing Members and Promoting Owners

To view and manage group members, go to Manage > Members in the place navigation menu.

 

 

Here you can:

  • Search for and view members
  • Manage members including changing role (e.g. promote/demote to owner) and removing or banning from the group
    • NOTE: Before you can promote a user to owner they must have accepted the invitation to join the group
  • View, delete, and resend open (unaccepted) invitations
  • Invite users
  • Send email notifications (see below)

 

Communicating with Group Members

Group owners have several ways in which to communicate with members:

 

  • Creating content - Blog posts, discussions, events, and polls are great ways to engage members and get the conversation going. Members will receive activity notifications.
  • Announcements - Announcements are displayed prominently at the top of the group. You can optionally choose to send an inbox notification (which by default will send an email).
  • Email group - Send a direct email to members.
  • Export to CSV - Download the member list to use in external communications/campaigns.

 

More Information

If you have a suggestion for a new group, please let us know by posting a question in About the Community (no product questions).

Attachments

    Outcomes