Multiple Users Editing the Same Process

Document created by chris_fagan Employee on May 27, 2016Last modified by chris_stevens on Aug 10, 2016
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

In general, when working on creating or updating a process, it's always good practice to insure that only one user at a time is editing/configuring a process. There are a couple key reasons for trying to maintain this practice

 

  • Test Mode will always use the most recent revision of a process. If multiple users are currently editing the same process and simultaneously making saves and new revisions, it can often lead to seeing unexpected results while testing processes. This is due to the fact that the platform will always use the most recent revision of the process, even if it's not the revision that the developer is currently working on.
  • At this time, the Platform does not yet have the capability to notify developers how many users are currently working on or looking at a process.

 

A good way to help implement this practice in regards to building and modifying processes is to set restrictions and permissions to these processes. The Boomi Platform allows users to set specific permissions on folders that contain processes. This includes the ability to only allow specific users the option of having Write permissions to these folders and makes it easier to provide user control. Here is some more information regarding folder permissions:

 

Additional resources:

Attachments

    Outcomes